MA-I Fever Ka Na Ba?

In my previous post, I wrote about what happened during the Grand Launch as well as the “Araw ng MA-I” launch. Here now is what has been the reaction so far, after people have read MA-I already. It’s too long to put in one post so I decided to do another post instead. Here are some snap shots of it.

1

2

Proud to get a copy of the newest Pinoy manga series, “MA-I” written By Faye (and Arya) Chelabian and bublished by CSM. I highly recommend this series to homeschoolers to encourage their kids to read in Filipino and learn pre-Hispanic customs/history at the same time. – Grace Gaston-Dousel, author “True Love Weds”

3

15

Definitely worth the wait! -Kevin Mina

5

14

Finally! Finished reading MA-I! A must read for everyone who would want to see our rich Filipino culture, with its amazing character, mind boggling plot, laugh and cry at the same time! Haha! Five stars for you guys! Can’t wait for the next books! -Hanah Alparas

6

13

Suportahan at tangkilikin ang sariling atin! Pinoy Manga! Sobrang ganda ng plot twist kahit masakit sa puso. Nakakataas ng lagnat eh! Please give us the next book! -Patricia Santiago

16

Naunahan pa ako ng mga estudyante basahin ang Ikalawang Yugto. 1 & 2 palang dinadala ko hinahanap na yung 3rd book. Haha! Level 3-A loves this book! Salamat sa may pakana! -Bianca Bonifacio

7

Naapreciate ko yung teamwork ninyo at yung mission behind MA-I. Asan ang next book? -Mytch Calayag

17

En Villasis, Palanca award-winner, author

En Villasis, Palanca award-winner, author “Agua,” writer ABS-CBN

8
10

12

Acel Bisa-Van Ommen was one of the firsts who grabbed a set of MA-I Books. I was actually overwhelmed at the fact that she was more giddy with having an autograph signed. Hello? I'm the fan girl here. I love her music since I was in highschool! (c) Hanah Alparas

Acel Bisa-Van Ommen (former lead singer of Moonstar 88) was one of the firsts who grabbed a set of MA-I Books. I was actually overwhelmed at the fact that she was more giddy with having an autograph signed. Hello? I’m the fan girl here. I love her music since I was in highschool! We exchanged books in the end. (with Patricia Santiago and Hanah Alparas in pic)
(c) Hanah Alparas

My nephew, Jake, instantly finished the five books during the Grand Launch Part 2, and has repeatedly read the comics when they got home. He coined the term

My nephew, Jake, instantly finished the five books during the Grand Launch Part 2, and has repeatedly read the comics when they got home. He coined the term “MA-I Fever”. Have you caught the fever yet?
(c) BJ Villanueva

Parang Lord of the Rings, talagang aabangan mo yung susunod na kabanata. -BJ Villanueva

“‘Awesome’ is too anemic a word, but it’s all I have. MA-I is full of adventure, vigor, and movement– and yet it is humorous, heartwarming, and value-driven too. A rare combination in one work!”

-Grace D. Chong, multiple Palanca award winner and best-selling author

Caught on Cam! On of our mentors who taught us the techniques of storytelling, award-winning author Grace D. Chong, caught peeking through Book 3, Si Malakas at si Maganda. (c) CSM Publishing

Caught on Cam!
On of our mentors who taught us the techniques of storytelling, award-winning author Grace D. Chong, caught peeking through Book 3, Si Malakas at si Maganda.
(c) CSM Publishing

One of the first kids who lined up to our book signing event was this boy, who was looking for a new read since TOMO (a graphic novel too) has ended already. (c) CSM Publishing

One of the first kids who lined up to our book signing event was this boy, who was looking for a new read since TOMO (a graphic novel too) has ended already. Posing behind the father and son are Makaka and Ka’lila cosplayers.
(c) CSM Publishing

Posing with another book author and friend, Ate Yah Munar. (c) CSM Publshing

Posing with another book author and friend, Ate Yah Munar.
(c) Yah Munar

12034401_10153700837341803_7488062229503406726_o

Caught on cam too! Joey Garcia of Day by Day Ministries takes home a couple of MA-I sets with him. Day by Day is known for sharing the gospel by preserving our own cultural heritage. (c) Joy Solina

Sir Edwin Arceo of CBN Asia was also one of the firsts to line up at the book signing event. He's written a review about MA-I. Check it out. (C) CSM Publishing

Sir Edwin Arceo of CBN Asia was also one of the firsts to line up at the book signing event. He’s written a review about MA-I. Check it out.
(C) CSM Publishing

“Hindi po ako nagsisinungaling–anointed at may kapangyarihan ang pagkakagawa!” – Edwin Arceo

Read full post here: BOOK (KOMIKS) FEATURE: MA-IInilathala ng Kawangis Komiks (an imprint of CSM Publishing) 

Tatay Romy braved to witness the Araw ng MA-I by himself! And guess what? He's made action figures of MA-I Characters evern before the books went public! He's our editor's dad and he too became a fan. Aba ageless pala ang pwedeng abutin ng MA-I! (c) Joy Solina

Tatay Romy braved to witness the Araw ng MA-I by himself! And guess what? He’s made action figures of MA-I Characters evern before the books went public! He’s our editor’s dad and he too became a fan. Aba ageless pala ang pwedeng abutin ng MA-I!
(c) Joy Solina

12045260_10153872307205283_3754061365715758086_o

Ka’lila himslef (played by David D’Angelo) had good words to say after reading MA-I Books. Check out his review below: (c) CSM Publishing

“Napagtagumpayan nina Arya at Faye na bigyan ng emosyon ang kanilang komiks at buhayin ang namatay na sekreto kung bakit namayagpag ang komiks noon.” – David D’Angelo.

Read full post here: Ang Kwento ng MA-I at Bakit Dapat mo Itong Subaybayan

He also did a “manganized version of their skit here:

Alam ko iilan palang itong mga comments na ito dahil sa bookfair palang unang naging public ang MA-I Komiks, pero  kung naiintriga ka at gusto mo ring malaman kung ano at bakit ganito ang mga reaction nila, pwede pong mag-order ng MA-I komiks sa order@csmpublishing.com (pwede po nila i-ship sa inyo saan man kayo sa mundo). In a few weeks time available na rin po ang mga libro sa major bookstores sa Pilipinas so abangan po natin yan!

UPDATE:

bookstore poster copy

Ikaw, MA-I fever ka na ba? Share mo naman sa iba o i-post sa MA-I Facebook page. Makakatulong po ito upang mas maraming makaalam at tumangkilik sa MA-I. Kapag po marami po ang tumangkilik dito ay tiyak MA-I-tutuloy po namin ang kwentong nasubaybayan na ng iba. So we encourage everyone to please spread the word about MA-I especially if you think this is a good material to bring back the love for Godly-Filipino culture. Para pong Heneral Luna yan, marami pang karugtong, at kailangan ng funds upang maituloy ang iba pang mga proyekto. Tangkilikin nawa natin ang sariling atin.

Sumainyo ang lakas ni Bathala!

Related posts:

MA-I: Ano Ito At Bakit ito naisulat? (Naruto Press Release)

Ranneveryday: MA-I: A Filipino Manga that Promotes History, Culture, and Values

Behind the Scenes on MA-I

MA-I: Ano ito at Bakit ito Naisulat? (Authors Interview)

Araw ng MA-I (Recap)

About fayevillanueva

Faye has been writing and drawing stories since she was a toddler. She graduated AB Mass Communications and underwent training from various screen, play and book writers. For the past decade, she has contributed to the Filipino publishing industry as illustrator, book designer, editor and writer. She is compiler and editor of Young Women on the Journey: Beauty for Ashes and illustrator and co-author of MA-I Graphic Novel Series.Follow her at Instagram @spatialchild.

Posted on 2015/09/30, in Artworks: Inside stories and Tutorials, Comics, Anime, & Manga Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

